Types of Hippos

Hippo Species

Today there are only two Hippo species remaining – the Pygmy Hippos and the Common Hippos. Experts believe that at least three different Hippo species have become extinct.

Common Hippopotamus

Weighing approximately three tons, the Common Hippo is the larger of two remaining species of Hippos in the world. From the early times of Egyptian writings, the Hippo has been considered a symbol of strength and fertility in their culture.

Read More about the Common Hippos

Pygmy Hippopotamus

The size of the Pygmy Hippo is substantially smaller than the Common Hippo. However, tipping the scales at about one ton is nothing small to bat an eye about.

Read More about the Pygmy Hippos

Extinct Hippo Species

There are a few species of Hippos that have become extinct over time. The most recent one is the Malagasy Hippo. It is believed that they were around until about 1 000 years ago.

Read More about the Extinct Hippo Species